We want Echothread to be a helpful app, allowing all types of people to publish content from Slack to the web. In doing that, there are potential problems with team members not realizing what they say in a Slack channel is being broadcast to the world. The following features were added to help keep private data private.

Echothread does not work in private channels.

If you attempt to add the @echothread bot to a private channel, Echothread won't follow your command and it will kick itself out of the channel.

Only admins can add the Echothread bot to a channel.

If you're a non-admin user of your Slack workspace, you'll have to ask an admin user to invite the Eavesdrop bot into the channel you wish to publish.

We've added helpful messaging.

The bot now is more explicit about what it does when it's added to a channel:

@sally added Echothread to this channel, which sends all the messages posted here to a public URL (https://www.echothread.com/c/nnnn). Please be aware of what you say. To stop sending posts to the public URL, please ask an administrator to remove the bot from the channel.

Echothread periodically reminds all users it's there

The bot will remind users every 20 messages in the channel that it's there and publishing content to the echothread.com URL.

Echothread honors deleted content

If you delete a message in a Echothread channel, the message will be deleted on the echothread.com URL.


Additionally, there are some best practices we'd recommend in using Echothread:

Spin up an additional Slack workspace just for Echothread

Only invite those team members who need to be part of the public echothread.com conversation.

Clearly name channels

Add "echothread" or "public" in front of your channel name (like so: #echothread-breakingnews, #public-productchat) so team members know what's happening when they join a channel.

DM a team member before you invite them to a channel

Make sure they know their posts are being published to the world before inviting them to a Echothread channel.